It’s (NOT) All About Me

Sometimes I remember that life is not all about me. I reflect for a split second on the fact that there are billions of people all around the globe, going about their day to day life while I go about mine. I have a hard enough time remembering that my friends’ lives continue when they’re not with me. That every hour I spend apart from them doing homework, eating, sleeping, is an hour that they are living, even if I’m not a part of it.

I watched two videos recently that were welcome reminders of how full of life this planet is. Reminders that everyone is significant, and that everyone is different. They were also reminders that this world is a broken, yet beautiful place, full of broken and beautiful people.

The first is a film I watched on Netflix called Life in a Day. The filmmakers put out a call for people all over the world to capture footage of their lives on July 24, 2010, and submit it. They ended up with over 4,500 hours of footage from 190 countries and edited it into a very interesting film. Watch it if you get the chance.

 

The second is this well-done video put together by a middle school broadcasting team.

(HT Marc Cortez)

Everyone has a story, and it keeps going whether I remember that it does or not. I hope to be always more mindful of those around me, and those far away. Obviously, God does not struggle with finitude like I do, but what must it be like to know the joy’s and sorrow’s of a planet-full of people, and to long to gather them together under his wings?

 

The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it,

the world, and all who live in it;

Psalm 24:1

Leave a Reply

