Historical Mentor Revisited – John Chrysostom

St John Chrysostom, St Patrick's cathedral, Ne...

St John Chrysostom, St Patrick’s cathedral, New York City (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Some time ago I asked for some recommendations for an important figure from church history to engage with as a historical mentor. You gave me some wonderful suggestions and helped me think through the implications of some of the various choices available to me, and for that I am grateful.

I ended up selecting John Chrysostom as my historical mentor and enjoyed researching his life and thought for a paper for my Church History class. I knew next to nothing about him before my class, and since we were covering 2,000 years of history, we weren’t able to spend much time on him in class, so I was thankful for the opportunity to explore him a bit more.

 

His is truly an incredible story, and the way he has influenced our own Christianity today is fascinating.

I hope you’ll take some time to read through my paper and enjoy learning a bit about a bold man of God.

You can find it here.

2 thoughts on “Historical Mentor Revisited – John Chrysostom

Leave a Reply

